Login - Become a member

Stuck in Modeling a Guitar!  help!

Forums home -> Modeling -> Stuck in Modeling a Guitar!  help!

Stuck in Modeling a Guitar!  help! 
By gamemania1986 on Nov 30, 2001 04:28 PM
First of all I'm still new to 3ds max.

I tried to model a guitar by:

1)to create half of the guitar's body.

1a)created a curved line.
1b)duplicated it (1 for top side, one for bottom side)
1c)attached both lines
1d)added a cross section modifier
1e)added a surface modifier

the result is not what I expected.  Here's the comparison of the result (2 sided on in the viewport) and what I want.

If you can't see the image please go to this link http://awholenewworld.0catch.com/help/image1.jpg

Could someone guide me how to achieve what I want?

Thanks in advance!

Last modification: Agro Rachmatullah - 11/30/01 at 17:28:40
Re: Stuck in Modeling a Guitar!  help! 
By Koztah3d on Nov 30, 2001 05:25 PM
In order to form a surface, every shape in your spline cage must have no more than 4 and no less than 3 vertices. You also have to close every shape.

Here is, in my opinion, the best method for working with surface tools:

1)Draw your spline cage. Not all of it, but enough of it. Time for adjustment is later.
2)THEN, clone your spline cage as a reference and apply a surface modifier on the clone.
3)Make adjustments to your original spline cage and see the reference change as you work.

That way yu always know what you're doing and how it's going to look, and you can fix any mistakes as you make them. ;)
By Yanni_Mac on Dec 02, 2001 04:24 PM