Login - Become a member

Fear of modeling

Forums home -> Modeling -> Fear of modeling

Fear of modeling 
By ericlwj on Aug 12, 2001 04:50 AM
Hi! I am a multimedia student and study 3DMax v.3
I have fear of modeling. Yes! thats right. I mean I love 3D animation alot and went I started leaning 3D Max. I see that, Its not easy. I can do the tutorials but when it comes to model a character that I have created by myself or to model something that is not in the tutorials, I am stuck. Everytime when I look at other peoples 3D animation, I always ask myself how they do it? Can they just do it in a few hours or less with out planing? Or they have to go do research for weeks or mouths on how to start building the character in 3D before they start animation?

Why I post this message is to know how all of you people start modeling? What goes on in your heards when you model something. (What you ask or tell yourself)I How you all could help me and also othes like me.

I World Like to thank all of the Animaters for creating all the great animation around the world.
Thank you all.
Re: Fear of modeling 
By Koztah3d on Aug 23, 2001 06:24 PM
First of all, use surface tools
secondly, use references, drawings, sketches, pictures, etc.
Thirdly, expect your first high-poly character to take  *at least* 3-5 weeks if you want it to look decent, as you'll make quite a few mistakes. Maybe some really big ones.
Your first low-poly character should take a few days, tops- that is, if it's REAL low-poly, like 400-800 poly.
Oh, and a tip: don't use any plug-ins while l-earning, or you might end up being dependent on them, which is very, very non-good- as studios where you might not be using them, not even the freeware plugs.
By Kheemo on Aug 25, 2001 07:14 AM