Login - Become a member

A sphare with regulary holes in the surface?

Forums home -> Modeling -> A sphare with regulary holes in the surface?

A sphare with regulary holes in the surface? 
By amgos on Mar 25, 2001 11:14 PM
Hello i am a bloddy beginner in 3d Studio!
How i can make a sphare with regulary holes in the surface? Over textures or Modelling?
Thanks!
Markus

Last modification: Markus Winsky - 03/26/01 at 01:14:12
Re: A sphare with regulary holes in the surface? 
By Mike_Bendele on May 01, 2001 09:28 PM
Hate to see a newbie question get no response.

The quickest way is to make a square texture map with a white background and a black circle in the middle. (A B/W gradient ramp set to solid radial will work just as well)

Assign this map to the opacity channel of a material then assign the material to your object.

Add a UVmap modifier to your sphere and choose the "face map" option - test render and adjust to taste.

Another option ([color=lightpurple:6115d7fdc4]shown above[/color:6115d7fdc4]) is to do the holes with geometry. The holes on this sphere are evenly spaced, but the diameter of each hole has some slight variation.

To make this one I chose to use the Geosphere object because the triangles don't converge at the poles. I used an Icosa Geosphere with 2 segments.

Next I added a Meshsmooth modifier with 1 iteration and set the Meshsmooth type set to "classic". This gave me a reasonably smooth sphere with somewhat rounded regular shapes over the surface.

I then added an Editmesh modifier and went to sub-object poly mode and selected the inner 6-sided roundish shapes that were created over the surface in the prev step. "Ignore backfacing" and "shade selected faces" help with this.

I selected the "local" option under the Extrude in the Editmesh rollout and then extruded the selected faces toward the sphere center.