Login - Become a member

why do my C4D renders seem "soft"

Forums home -> Cinema 4D -> why do my C4D renders seem "soft"

why do my C4D renders seem "soft" 
By on Apr 27, 2002 08:56 AM
maybe this is a dumb question, but alot of my renders in Cinema 4D seem "soft" and not very sharp. I thought maybe it was my textures or something. i'm completely self taught, and i still suck at texturing. Is there anything i should do to make the renders more sharp, or "crisp"?
Also, i wanted to someones opinion on what other software packages have a UI as good as C4D
Re: why do my C4D renders seem "soft" 
By Carles_Piles on Apr 28, 2002 03:39 AM
Try using SAT interpolation (MIP by default) for your  "softed" textures. This must be enough.

Also you can add a sharp filter in render configuration>effects tab to get very sharp results.

maybe this is a dumb question, but alot of my renders in Cinema 4D seem "soft" and not very sharp. I thought maybe it was my textures or something. i'm completely self taught, and i still suck at texturing. Is there anything i should do to make the renders more sharp, or "crisp"?
Also, i wanted to someones opinion on what other software packages have a UI as good as C4D

change the render-options! 
By sad on Apr 28, 2002 07:48 AM
hit ctrl-b (the render settings will appear) and go to the options menu. there you change the antialiasing from 100% to 50%.
now you can choose any output-aa you like and the renderings will become sharper.

you can also achieve a crisy look, when you do that:
go to the effects-tab and change filter to 'edges' with 35%. try it.

:D
By AdamT on Apr 30, 2002 09:56 AM
You can also adjust sharpness on a per-material basis by changing the "s" value in the MIP box.  I find that a value of -50 usually gives good results (negative numbers mean sharper textures).
By Kaiskai on May 05, 2002 09:35 AM
I figure your using XL 5.3 or 6. as some of this has been corrected in 7+.