Login - Become a member

maya unlimited or maya complete?

Forums home -> Maya -> maya unlimited or maya complete?

maya unlimited or maya complete? 
By sukysuk on Nov 26, 2002 10:36 AM
hello folx. this is my first post. ijust got maya unlimited 4.5 yesterday and it gave me the option of installing that or unlimited. does anybody know the difference between the two?

this is also my first week of using 3d imaging software, should i start with maya 4.5 or use 3ds max 5?  

newbie here, anyhelp would be appreciated.
Re: maya unlimited or maya complete? 
By oh_what_a_night on Nov 26, 2002 12:49 PM
Maya Unlimited of course.The complete version has disabled a lot of options(i dont remember which)
Also when i started 3d i first used 3d max.When later i discovered Maya i ve never used max again.Many people would disagree with me but all the directors in their hollywoodian movies agree.Maybe they know better...  :)
I hope i helped
By canavan on Nov 28, 2002 08:56 PM
I would agree with the above response...maya makes 3ds look like clipart.  I started with 3ds and now am learning maya....wish i had done it the other way...

-canavan
By mooR on Dec 16, 2002 01:51 AM
sukysuk, The difference between Maya Complete and Maya Unlimited is hidden in 4 plugins that make the Unlimited version rock n roll.
* Maya Fluid Effects (starting from ver4.5)
* Maya Cloth
* Maya Fur
* Maya Life MatchMoving

also, you should check the Alias|Wavefront web page
www.aliaswavefront.com , and check out the product you'd like to work with.

how to learn : work!

By Learner88 on Jun 12, 2004 02:33 PM
i agree with what a night...i made the same expirience..i started with 3ds max 4...then 3ds max 6...but when i started with maya...wooow big difference!!!i made this choose also because movie companies choose maya everytimes!(lord of the rings matrix star wars..and many others!!)
Both are great! 
By gstapleton on Sep 29, 2004 11:04 PM