Login - Become a member

why am I unable to open .max files?

Forums home -> 3D Studio MAX -> why am I unable to open .max files?

why am I unable to open .max files? 
By dogsounds on May 03, 2001 06:34 AM
Howdy folks!

Bit of a newbie here...I've only just started using 3D StudioMax (a very old v.1.2 no less!!) and I'm having a little problem that no-one seems to be able to help me with.

I find that when I try to open .max files, nothing happens. If I already have a file open, it asks me the usual questions about whether I want to save the current file etc., but when the .max file opens up, there's absolutely nothing in any of the viewports. I can import and open .3ds files ok, so is there a setting that I don't know about?

I'm frustrated 'cos I have found some darn fine vehicle meshes, just what I am looking for, but when I open them I get nothing - not a wireframe, not a light, nada!

I would be utterly floaty and happy if someone could advise what is going on, am I doomed not to use .max files or am I just being a 40-watt (as usual)?

Also, while I remember, has anyone else come across a problem whereby you hit the render or quick render buttons, the dialog box with the info and progress bar appears, but the rendered image viewport with your lovingly crafted object does not?

many thanks for your assistance, I hope to be posting stuff to knock your socks off as soon as!

Foxx Wolf

www.dogsounds.com

;D
Re: why am I unable to open .max files? 
By Mike_Bendele on May 03, 2001 07:21 PM
That sometimes happens when the max file you are trying to open was created in a newer version of max than the one you are using. It's certainly true for models created in Max 4.

Considering the version you are using, that is most likely the problem. I don't think there is a way around that unless you can find a newer version of max to open the file with first.