Login - Become a member

Im new, anyone willing to help??

Forums home -> 3D Studio MAX -> Im new, anyone willing to help??

Im new, anyone willing to help?? 
By Spectrum on Jan 16, 2001 12:28 PM
I just have a few general questions, because I have never used a 3D imaging program before.  Ok, my first question is simple-

1. Is it worth is to get a good imaging program if I am not a really talented drawer or artist in real life?  I want to know because I have ideas, but I just can't express them well...Im hoping the computer can help that.

2. Thats all I really want to know for now  ;D.
Re: Im new, anyone willing to help?? 
By Eliseu_Gouveia on Jan 16, 2001 07:13 PM
Computers are a tool, like a pen or a camera :
thereīs no use having a top of the line machine if you canīt express your visions through it .
If you have the Talent, then the sky is the limit, otherwise...

Donc, the question here is "Do you have an artist within you" ?
By Spectrum on Jan 16, 2001 08:34 PM
Let me re-phrase that question.

Does a top of the line imaging program such as 3D Studio MAX make ideas (mainly surrealistic ones) easier to express?  Because I can draw, just not to well...I can make pictures and what not, so I believe I have the talent.  More to the point- Is a computer bassicaly the same or much different than using a pencil or a paint brush?  I know the obvious answer, but because it renders polygons has pre fabricrated images, installed colors and other junk it seems to me like it would be easier to make a picture.  Any answer will do....I know the only real answer is just trying it for myself, but it's 3g's so thats kinda tough ;D.  Which leads me to ask if I can get a demo somewhere, and if so, where?

Another question-

Do most of you guys who make landscapes and models of humans start from scratch, like a blank page or do you scan images that you drew by hand and then color them or touch them up?  Just a curious newbie....
By Cyrus on Jan 17, 2001 03:02 AM