Login - Become a member

Lighting Aproaches

Forums home -> Lighting -> Lighting Aproaches

Lighting Aproaches 
By Dan_Harms on Apr 16, 2001 04:56 PM
I have not seen many posts in here so I thought I better start one.

My question is this: how many of you use the basic 3 point lighting technique, and how many improvise?
Re: Lighting Aproaches 
By Moriarty on May 02, 2001 07:31 PM
I'd use three point lighting if I had to set up a scene like a television studio.  I feel in this day and age that with the ability to create or enhance your "studio" basically to how ever you need it.  One of the techniques that I like to do is naturally light a room from natural souces (window, lights etc) then texture everything to look right in the setup.  Although I am just a beginner and my opinion might be irrelevant.

Moriarty
By Activemind2000 on May 04, 2001 05:44 AM
I think the 3 point light technique is usefull, as Kevin said, for a studio, but i feel that you should do the lighting as you feel it would fulfill what you need to achieve in the final image. That technique is more usefull, i guess, for understanding how you can light properly your scene (not underlit, or overlit).I can use this technique to learn how i should balance a light too strong or how to attenuate a shadow too black , etc.
got it? ;)
By Alom on May 14, 2001 09:19 PM
The 3 points tech is the basic block to lit up the scene... but it can be varied according to your need...!
By diaz on May 23, 2001 03:42 AM
Well, the 3-light technique is quite helpfull, but as the rest said everyone has his/hers unique way of lighting. I use a movie effect widely used, using Fill lights/Key lights/kick lights.