Login - Become a member

What's Lightwave like

Forums home -> Lightwave 3D -> What's Lightwave like

What's Lightwave like 
By JasonHendry on Nov 30, 2000 07:34 PM
I have been using 3D Studio Max R3 for a while now. I won't to learn another program as well. What is Lightwave like and are there any similarities between the two. thanks if anyone can help me with that.
Screenshots and sample images. 
By on Dec 02, 2000 01:55 AM
Lightwave is really easy to pick up. The menu system is designed for productivity and maximum efficiency. The best thing is that Newtek (the company that made LW) always come out with updates and patches that dramatically improve the program. One of the best features is the ability to use HDRI images to render a scene. The output is just amazingly photorealistic. Lightwave has two main programs: Modeler and Layout. Modeler is where you do all the modeling and the Layout is where animation and texturing is done, generally at least.
I am an amateur... but I have a few images here.
http://www.geocities.com/ray-kool/work/work.htm
Re: What's Lightwave like 
By JasonHendry on Dec 10, 2000 01:05 AM
I love the car. It almost looks real.

Thanks for the info. I'll try to get a demo and check it out.
By JasonHendry on Dec 12, 2000 01:54 AM
Does any one know if there is a Demo for Lightwave? If so where can I find it.

What does Lightwave cost?
By on Dec 23, 2000 06:25 PM
I don't think there is a demo, I've been looking for one myself and I couldn't find it so I just bought it (after a lot of research and comparison). It cost me $1345 before shipping with my type of upgrade, to come from 3DS Max it's only $995. This is from Newtek directly. It's only about $25 to get it overnight (my option of course).
By on Jan 01, 2001 10:13 PM